Picture of several eyeglass frames
Photo courtesy of eyelandoptical.com/

I’m OCD About My Glasses

You Would Be Too, If You Lived In My Mind

Robyn Sinead Sheppard
2 min readApr 4, 2022

--

Something I hate the most about wearing glasses is the way they get bits of lint or dust on the lenses. So much so that until my vision deteriorated to the point that I can no longer wear contact lenses and had to go back to wearing glasses.

So what makes me OCD? This afternoon I saw some specks on my glasses, so I took them off and wiped them clean. But when I put them on again, the specks were still there.

A bit put out, I took the glasses off again and this time, I used a spray glass cleaner and a lint-free cloth. I held them up to various light sources and verified they were indeed clean.

Putting them back on, the same spots were there. Okay, now I was livid. How could the spots not be there only to reappear when I put my glasses back on? I didn’t understand it. I tried moving my laptop, wiping its screen — you name it and I tried it.

Then I figured it out: the spots I saw was the sunshine coming through the windows behind me and reflecting on the inside surfaces of the lenses of my glasses.

Life with OCD is always interesting.

Robyn Sin­éad Sheppard is an award-winning former PBS videographer and self-published author whose work, featuring her ex-wife’s art, was selected for display in the Brooklyn Museum of Art. She writes on a potpourri of topics including philosophy, memoirs, satire, gender, and basically anything that pops into her head. A dedicated fan of the Oxford comma, she is fluent in many different languages including English, American, Canadian, Australian, and sarcasm.

Of all of her achievements, she is proudest of her daughters and grandsons.

You can also find her blog at http://www.visionsandjourneys.org.

--

--

Robyn Sinead Sheppard

A happily retired technical writer, I write in order to understand what I'm thinking.